top of page

Tianyang Zhang 张天阳




Tianyang Zhang was born in 1995 in China. He began studying piano when he was a child. In 2013 he entered Shanghai Conservatory of Music and learns composition with Prof. YE Guohui. From October 2016 to July 2017, he started his one-year exchange in HfMT-Hamburg and now continue studying with Prof. Fredrik Schwenk.

In 2015, his piece "Meteorite" was awarded the third prize in The Sixth Rivers Composition Competition and premiered by Klangforum Wien in Shanghai.


In 2016 he was commissioned to compose a chamber piece for Chinese traditional ensemble by Shanghai New Music Week. The composition "Roads" was premiered in September 2016, which gave its Europe Premiere as a part of CrossRoads Music Festival in Salzburg holding by Universität Mozarteum.

His work "Bronzeguß" for marimba solo won the first prize in Sorodha 6th international composition competition and was premiered on 29th April 2017 in Antwerp Belgium.

"Sì Xiàng", his orchestral composition, won the only Impul-Prize in 28. Young Composer Orchestra Workshop and was premiered on 17th May 2017, in Nordharzer Städtebundtheater Halberstadt, Germany, by conductor Johannes Rieger and Orchester des Nordharzer Städtebundtheaters. At the same time, he will be commissioned a new composition by Hans Rotman for Impuls-Festival 2018 in Bauhaus-Dessau.

In September 2017, his string quartet "An der Pranger/Pillory" was chosen into a master class concert at the 10th Shanghai New Music Week, premiered by Tana Quartet.

In December, he got the first prize in The Seventh Rivers Composition Competition with "Leisure Supination" for Sheng and string quartet.






for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano




for Dizi, Soprano Sheng, Alto Sheng, Erhu, Zhonghu, Pipa, Daruan, Yangqin and Guzheng





for Marimba solo


Si Xiang

for orchestra


Pillory/An der Pranger

for string quartet


leisure supination

for Sheng and string quarte

bottom of page